Is this the end? SFC Opinion:


The move we all dreaded seemed to be confirmed on Wednesday night as it was revealed a deal is in place for City to play their home games at Northampton Town’s Sixfields Stadium for the next three years. It’s a move which still requires the Football League’s approval, probably later today (Thursday) but the confidence in them stopping this move is just not there.

So after a absence of a few months, I thought I’d get back to this blog and share my thoughts, but as ever with this club, where the hell to start.

I won’t be going to Northampton. That seems a decent place to begin. I am a Coventry City fan, always will be but I won’t be one that trapses all that way, to watch our home games and in turn seaming the pockets of our owners.

For home game memories I’ll just live off the memories of getting on the number 13 bus and walking through the turnstiles and watching Dion Dublin outjump the best and Darren Huckerby scare the hell out of full backs with untethered pace. I’ll remember Mo Konjic’s kamikaze runs, the 3-2 win over Man Utd; Hadji’s curler around Seaman; Keane’s wonder volley against Arsenal; Froggatt giving birth to ‘you don’t save those’ from Andy Gray against Everton; Jimmy Hill singing from the directors box at the last game at Highfield Road and everything in between.

I am severely dating my support of this club which has been there since the 13th April 1988. My first Highfield experience was in the 1993/4 season, I think. Hooked. Line and sinker.

Saturday’s couldn’t come quick enough, that ‘least we’ll win a few more games next year’ line when Paul Merson relegated us at Villa Park yealded nothing. Now our club is one man’s yes vote away from ruin. That isn’t scaremongering, it is the brutal truth.

I wanted to get my opinion across and I’m struggling to contain anger, disappointment just sheer depression really. Our football club has been taken away callously with total disregard for 130 years of history close to being wiped away. We have all sat and watched the Portsmouth’s, Plymouth’s, Scarborough’s flitter with ruin and in the latter’s call succumb to it. But, honestly despite the warning signs being there for 15+ years, really think it would ever come to this.

We all have one common interest, most people who read this will anyway and that’s this frustrating club we call ours and this may sound like a sickly letter of a ‘lost love’ but it is what it is. Some people will now show it in different ways. Some will either give up entirely and call it a day, some will support no matter what or where the clubs go and there are some, like myself, who will trapse up motorways and the like to do anything to throttle the life out of the current owners and get the club back in the City limits and only stand on terraces as an away fan.

I have completely rambled through this but yep, this is what happens when the rug is pulled completely from under you.

Later today this could all be outdated and the Football League may just pay notice to the outcry that has come from most clubs’ fans tonight, even Mr Jeff Stelling has offered his support to this club, so far being the most high-profile ‘supporter’.

Doesn’t seem right but as ever, PUSB!

7 Comments

Filed under CCFC Related

7 responses to “Is this the end? SFC Opinion:

  1. Ian

    #ntfc fan here, have been following your clubs tribulations from when Aidy Boothroyd starting collecting your cast-offs for us. Really do sympathise and I am NOT getting excited at our club getting some of the blood money
    Some outsider thoughts on my blog

  2. Pingback: Sky Blue Heaven |

  3. ANDY WALKER

    great statement, 40 years I have been following ny team, but no more ‘home’ games for me, not one more penny will i give to sisu, i naively thought that we would still end up at the ricoh, what are they thinking off? this will surely finish us if it goes ahead, my love for my club will never die but liked our loved ones its been taken away from me – PUSB

  4. cov stu

    Tim fisher , you have destroyed our club
    Hope you are proud. ! one thing is for
    Sure it must be a nightmare waking up
    Every morning knowing you are hated
    by everyone in Coventry , your playing
    With people’s emotions its time you went
    Stop the lying and go …….

    Hate to say it but the only way now is for
    ACL is to reject the CVA proposal ?

  5. Chris W

    Well said. I’ve been a supporter for 50+ years and I feel exactly the same and I also will not be travelling to Northampton. Our club is standing on the brink of destruction. Unless the Football League AND The FA act to prevent the monstrous injustice of SISU’s continued control then then CCFC will continue to decline and cease to exist within a very short time.

  6. jim

    I urge all true City fans to not even attend away games. This may seem ‘gut wrenching’ but the belief that by going you are not lining the pockets of an entity based in the British Virgin Isles is mistaken. I don’t mean in the monetary sense but in the sense that you are giving them a glimmer of hope that, with them, there is still a supporter base. Don’t do it! Let the team rot (I know it’ll break your heart ….. it does mine) but total non-support will kill the venture. Turn your back on SISU Utd forever and see what they do? Best of luck to the players, manager & backroom staff but they are not daft, e.g. MR, they will understand. PUSB

    I used to work in Northampton in the 80’s (Moulton Park) and often, when City where miles away and The Cobblers were at home, I’d go to the County Ground to watch them so I do have a ‘soft’ spot for them. I don’t blame them if they want the money but I would say get the cash upfront ….. you can’t trust SISU!!!!!!!!!

  7. Dave from Nuneaton

    We have lost the battle but the war is yet to be decided, the only way forward now is for all Cov fans to stick together. The Sky Blues Trust seems to be the biggest fan base organization or body so I ask them to arrange with ACL and the HIGGS Trust, to use the RICOH free of charge on the first sat home game to organize a fan day.
    During the day we should vote on a way forward on how we can gather support and use various tactics to get our club playing at the RICOH, even if this is mid season. I do not have all the answers but between the many we can achieve and make our own destiny.

    I ask you all to ask this of the SBT, we can make this happen, don’t thinkabout it just do it.

    PUSB

Leave a comment